For the last 3 years, implementing scrum or just being agile, I have had lots of  concerns reg. test strategies issued by test managers for my projects: I felt they did not take into account the specifics of the product and they turned into copy/paste test plans of previous projects.

Since we are talking about delivering working software, as a project manager/scrum master, I started writing the test strategies, approaches and test plans with support of the scrum teams for my projects. I got slightly lucky because before that I had read some books about testing inc. “Agile Testing” by Lisa Crispin and one about ISQTB so about testing and certification and some articles, especially Mike Cohn’s Forgotten Layer of the Test Automation Pyramid. Testing is now a interesting discipline thanks to numerous clever tools and techniques like BDD.

My whole goal was to make sure the test strategy and its implementation were tailored to the project and was fit-for-purpose for the project. There is a learning curve for the team to come up with the test strategy: writing a good test strategy requires thinking, lots of discussions and an understanding of what the product is as well as a knowledge of different tools and techniques.

A test strategy, like design, is “intentional yet emergent” to quote Mike Cohn: you may have to adapt it based on the lessons learned in the first sprints.

So , testing with all activities emcompassed under this name, should be part of the remit of responsibilities of  the scrum teams! You build it, you test it and you run it!

